Elect Kenya Johnson for Fulton County Judge
About Fulton County Probate Court

     The Probate Court of Fulton County assists citizens in probating estates, resolving disputes in estates and trusts, obtaining marriage and firearms licenses, appointing and supervising guardians and conservators, and approving injury settlements of minors.  The Probate Judge is elected countywide and serves a four-year term.

     The Fulton County Probate Court is located on the second floor of the Lewis Slaton Courthouse and serves the fifteen cities of Fulton County, Georgia.  Probate courts are generally associated with overseeing trusts and decedent’s estates. However, Georgia probate courts have jurisdiction over many additional issues.

     The following is a list of the types of matters a probate judge may oversee, and is not exhaustive:

  • Appointing conservators for people incapable of caring for themselves and/or managing their finances
  • Appointment and oversight of guardians for children
  • Appointment and oversight of guardians for individuals with intellectual disabilities
  • Holding hearings and making judicial determinations in all controversies involving incapacitated adults, minors, and estates of decedents.
  • Weapons Carry License Applications (Gun Permits)
  • Marriage Licenses & Wedding Ceremonies

To Contact the Probate Court of Fulton County: